Preparing for the Summer with a 60s Coat Dress

I simply adore this pattern–I too am working on a few retro summer outfits–I really do need to share. I also finished a bra and two ankle length dresses. I’m also working on a back button over-blouse in a primitive print and finished the back opening with the beautiful Hon Kong finish and now I need to complete my buttonholes. Watch for pictures to be added to this post. I love vintage! By the way your bound buttonholes are perfectly beautiful.

Vintage Belle

I’ve been working on a little project that I suddenly decided to make yesterday afternoon.  I’ve had the fabric in one of my stash boxes for a while, and had always intended it to be a summer coat of some sort, but never found the right pattern.  It’s a jungle-leaf print stretch cotton twill, medium weight.   I’d been browsing through my box of 60s patterns when one stood out – and I remembered this fabric.  I had just enough too, it was definitely time to get this stuff cut!

The pattern is McCalls 9604 from 1968, a coat and dress in two lengths.  I love the neru collar and the curved French dart.  The back has a shaped central seam & darts to help shape & fit.  The overall shape & length of the coat is still quite modern, so I can’t wait to see it done!  It’s not…

View original post 107 more words

Leave a Reply

